Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1873 CC trade dollar

i believe this came from my great grand father to my mother then to my silver collection. i know i probably screwed it up by cleaning it but other than that what do you think about it? I'm new to the coin collecting world but i have had about 100 1922 silver dollars and halves and quarters since i was about 5. so here they are.
also are there any tricks to photographing coins?

thanks

Elliot
i have a small collection of silver coins and some very interesting ones too.

Comments

• Options
    commoncents05commoncents05 Posts: 10,078 ✭✭✭
    DON'T CLEAN YOUR COINS!!!!

Welcome!!

-Paul
    Many Quality coins for sale at http://www.CommonCentsRareCoins.com
  • Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the boards..
    Yes, you were mistaken when you cleaned it.... never clean a coin. There are some superb threads on coin photography here.. just do a search - and yes, there are tricks. Enjoy... Cheers, RickO
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,449 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks like someone put their initials in the obverse and reverse fields.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    rec78rec78 Posts: 5,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    image I like it. Very rare coin. It is a coin lacking in my collection.I can overlook the graffitti on this one. OH YEAH---Please don't clean coins !!! Bobimage
  • Options
    yea i noticed the initials but i haven't been able to read them very well. is it L.W.H.? also do we have any graders here?

thanks

Elliot
  • Options
    123cents123cents Posts: 7,178 ✭✭✭
    image To the forum Elliot. The cleaning and graffiti on the obverse and reverse really lessen the value of your coin.
  • Options
    a quick google search of L. W. H. on coin came up with this.
    fixed it. click me
  • Options
    DDRDDR Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would grade it Extra Fine, but with the cleaning and initials it would probably net 2 grades lower.
  • Options