Home U.S. Coin Forum

With all this lasering and doctoring, I'm seriously done with numismatics

I'm still fairly new to the hobby, but I just can't see myself putting alot of money into a coin when I don't know if it was repaired by some undetectable method.

At first I thought I would stick to PCGS slabbed coins and save me any trouble, then I read stories of lasering through the slab, and being able to remove the coin from the slab and stick another coin in.

This just ruins the fun for me. And I can't see putting $1,000 or more into 1 coin and 10 years later finding out it was doctored.

Instead I will put my money into gold and silver bullion. I am only 23 and was looking forward to many years of building sets and so forth, but I don't think I'm going to continue.

I'm really disappointed, it's not a choice I like making.....

Comments

• LeianaLeiana Posts: 4,349

THIS is why coin doctors make me so upset. This exact reason. (Among others.)

People don't feel secure in the hobby anymore.

I wish you luck in your future endeavours.

-Amanda

I'm a YN working on a type set!

My Buffalo Nickel Website Home of the Quirky Buffaloes Collection!

Proud member of the CUFYNA
  • RYKRYK Posts: 35,796 ✭✭✭✭✭
    There are many ways to enjoy the hobby without dealing with those nefarious coin doctors. If you really wanted to collect coins, you would find a way that suits you.
  • DUIGUYDUIGUY Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭
    Find a reputable dealer ( there are many here ) and build a set with their help . image
    “A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly."

- Marcus Tullius Cicero, 106-43 BC
  • BearBear Posts: 18,953 ✭✭✭
    Where there is money

involved, there is always

a touch of larceny.
    There once was a place called
    Camelotimage
  • dizzyfoxxdizzyfoxx Posts: 9,823 ✭✭✭