Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

1984 Donruss - 100% Complete - All PSA 9/10

Wow...........what a ride. Finally nailed the missing 2 cards thanks to a cold-call from a collector in IL. two months ago for the Youngblood and a recent old-fashoned trade with Brent (BigHurt4) for the last one needed - Mike Fitzgerald.

Gotta tell ya that this set has been a blast to build. It's my first attempt at a registry set and the only set focused on in graded form. From $2 each psa 9 lot purchases to start it, to rummaging through wax boxes, factory sets, hand-built set, common lots, etc. for submissions, trading and buying already slabbed cards from fellow collectors and dealers, I've scoured for over 2 years trying to bring this 660 card set together. Some of it has been in uncharted waters - I think there were still 20 to 30 cards that hadn't seen a submission when I started, with not a lot of zeros in the '10' column. If memory serves me correctly I think there were about 8-9K total graded at that point. Now we're approaching 22K!

While this is a very satisfying achievement, I'm most proud of the quality of cards assembled. It's always been a work-in-progress as I continually update and upgrade where warranted. There are 9's here that will knock the socks of many a 10, so while the 9.24 GPA is not earth shattering, the overall quality of the set is very high in my opinion on a card per card basis - and I will continue to put quality cards in the set when possible. I also didn't break the bank either. I paid aggressively when called for but for the most part just waited and created opportunities to acquire the necessary cards. Persistant - oh yes. Throwing money at it - uh no.