Home U.S. Coin Forum

Grade the 1860 seated half, vote in the poll

BaleyBaley Posts: 22,658 ✭✭✭✭✭
upgraded my No Motto type coin, what do you think?

imageimage

Liberty: Parent of Science & Industry

Comments

• mozinmozin Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭
    I am no expert on grading Seated material but I do not see any rub on this one and it looks very clean to me. Pictures are often deceiving but this one could be MS65. Note that if I am way off I will refrain from attempting to grade future Seated material.image
    I collect Capped Bust series by variety in PCGS AU/MS grades.
  • TorinoCobra71TorinoCobra71 Posts: 8,020 ✭✭✭
    I vote MS63...

TorinoCobra71

• mirabelamirabela Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If it's a 58 it's a frickin' awesome one. And, per earlier gradeflation threads, I'd be surprised that it's still in a 58 holder. That said, I clicked 64. This one's unusual in that, at least from what I can see in the pic, the obverse is better than the reverse. They seem rarely to come that way.

Anyway, beautiful coin.
    mirabela
  • WWWWWW Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭
    Wow! What a nice looking coin. The no motto's are especially nice to behold. I'll guess MS64.

edited to add: The obverse rim at 1 o'clock looks a bit banged up. How much that factors in to the grade, I wouldn't have a clue.
  • mgoodm3mgoodm3 Posts: 17,497 ✭✭✭
    The area above half dol on the rev: rubby bits? So I said 58. Nice half.
    coinimaging.com/my photography articles Check out the new macro lens testing section
  • roadrunnerroadrunner Posts: 28,303 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd grade the reverse only a 64 because it appears to have some chatter and wipes above and below the eagle. The obv is essentially 65 but the reverse should keep it out of 65. For what it's worth I've seen a top tier TPG grade a worse coins as 66....but that doesn't change what the coin really is.

In a 65 holder this would be a low end 65 imo and in a 64 holder a very solid or PQ piece. Nice coin...where's the "S" mint mark??

roadrunner