Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newer Silver Proof Sets

I am new to coin collecting and I see alot of these newer proof sets like 1999 silver sets where the coins are toned ( I guess toned, bronze patches/tint to some areas). Does being discolored like that bring down the price to the point I should avoid collecting them or would it be to my favor in the long run as I think it adds some eye appeal as I see you guys referring to.

Jj

Btw I am new, and hope to be around for a while

Comments

• Options
    TorinoCobra71TorinoCobra71 Posts: 8,023 ✭✭✭
    image to the forums. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Some toning is appealing and some arent.

Regards,

TorinoCobra71

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,481 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Unfortunately some sets have toned in the mint holders from whatever reason(s). Sometimes it has to do with improper storage. Other times it is believed that the mint packages have problems with them that cause the coins to tone.

Does the toning raise or lower the value of the sets?

If you get lucky and get great toning, you could sell the coins for big bucks to people who are ga-ga image over toning.

BUT ...

Usually the coins tone uglyimage and are worth less, usually quite a bit less.

It's all in the luck of the draw, and usually the draw is bad when these sets tone in the mint issued holders.
    Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • Options
    MyqqyMyqqy Posts: 9,777