Home Precious Metals

GOLD AND SILVER WORLD NEWS, ECONOMIC PREDICTIONS

Comments

• << <i>Silver is cheaper now than it was in the 1970's and FAR more scarce. I've never felt so sure about an investment in my life.

No offense.....but quotes like that make people poor very quickly. Over confidence causes blindness. >>

This is the common wisdom and it is almost always true--almost. However, we have an unprecedented situation here that has never been in our history. A supply/demand problem that cannot, or will not be solved even in the distant future. There's not enough silver and there won't be for a long time. Here in California, in Orange County where I live there was a 97% occupancy rate (I don't know the exact numbers now, but they are still high. I was a building instructor and I would be working with a developer who was building houses, condos, etc. This story is typical of ALL of my jobs: I was on a job and they were getting ready to build the model site--the first 3-5 models that would show what kind of houses people would have to choose from. The models were the actual models to be, but of course they were designed to be eye-candy in order to attract buyers from other develpments. Eye-candy wasn't necessary. Before we even broke ground on the model site, all 8 phases--120 houses were sold in a few weeks. People didn't even know what the models were going to look like--they only had descriptions and floorplans. It was a supply/demand issue here in California. Our $117,000, low-end condo became worth nearly 400k, and my in-laws $350K house became worth almost 1 million--supply/demand. We couldn't build houses fast enough for the people who wanted them. Of course you all know that this is what basic supply demand is. Well, we all know that this cycle is going to end, and those prices are going to drop again because the demand will change, and we aren't really running out of houses--just at that place at that time.