Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

"In-home Safes vs Safety Deposit Boxes"

Comments

• Options
    K6AZK6AZ Posts: 9,295
    Are you telling me the FBI can gain access to your box without a court order? If so, please cite where the law says that.
  • Options
    mrearlygoldmrearlygold Posts: 17,858 ✭✭✭
    Doesn't take all that much to get a court order.

Tom
  • Options
    Warrants??? -- the FBI doesn't need no stinkn' warrants!

Patriot Act Section 215 allows "sneak and peek" searches.

Here's a link reviewing Section 215 but it is a year old so there might have been some changes made to the scope of "sneak and peeks" since September 2003.

I'm not a Consititutional lawyer so I can't help with any changes to the law recently.

For those not interesting in clicking on the link here's what 215 basically says --

Under Section 215, these searches and seizures can occur not only without notice to the target, but also without a warrant, without a criminal subpoena, and without any showing of probable cause that a crime has been committed.

What types of records come within Section 215? They may be held by libraries, booksellers, doctors, universities, Internet Service providers, and other public entities and private sector businesses. They may consist of records, books, papers, or other personal data and property.

Copyright By Anita Ramasastry courtesy of FindLaw

Michael
  • Options
    Michael, you provided a link to a legal commentary. Do you have a link to that section of the actual law?
  • Options
    Eric -- go to Findlaw and do a little research it should be easy, but for now I gotta go. I'll try to post one later.

Michael
  • Options
    Well, as usual the law does not say what some purport. Please tell me where in section 215 the FBI can break into your safe deposit box without a warrant signed by a judge:

Section 215
  • Options

<< <i>Eric -- go to Findlaw and do a little research it should be easy, but for now I gotta go. I'll try to post one later.