Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

GOETZ: Christhead and 10K Post

Hi All, I wanted to make a special post for the marking of my 10,000th post here at CU and couldn’t have had a better Goetz piece than this to celebrate the occasion with. As a matter of fact, I have been holding on to this medal for several months in anticipation. I was lucky enough to win this piece in a German auction at the first of July and am still in awe of its beauty.

I contacted Gunter Kienast shortly after receiving this piece and this is what he had to say;

“Hi, Scott: It is indeed a fine specimen of Goetz's talent to craft beautiful portraits. I am almost certain that the number 698 is from Karl Goetz's hand. Because the theme of 698 is marriage, and Christ has been a symbol of weddings on several Goetz medals.