Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Why the Barbers are so tough to find nice

TahoeDaleTahoeDale Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭
There have been about 5 large collections including Barber halves sold in the last 8 years, but the longterm buyers were there, putting the coins away.

1. Pryor, 1996

2. Eliasberg, April 1997

3. Price, 1998

4. Queller, Oct. 2002

5. Geosits. Nov. 2003

The population for many of the dates is less than 5 in 65, and for dates like the 04-S, PCGS has graded a total in all grades less than 40 coins.

There can be assembled only 4 gem sets in PCGS holders. And only 15 sets in 63 or better. So the reason for seeing only 1 or 2 nice Barber halves at a major show, on the floor, is readily clear. The coins are tied up in collections( 4 major collectors and about 6 complete or almost complete sets).Though I have been collecting for 12 years, I did not buy more than 5 on the floor. Many more at Auctions at the major events.

The barber quarters are almost as tough. Again, only 5 or less sets can be put together in MS 65 or better. The 2 large sales-Church and Krueger, were several years ago and have long been dispersed. The Eliasberg sale was 7 years ago. No complete collection has hit the Market in 4 years, but there are about 40 nice barber quarters coming up in August at the Heritage ANA sale.

While the dimes are more plentiful, 3 collections dominate the field and there are few gems these 3 gentlemen do not own.( Law, Blay and Duckor ). But there are about twice as many gems(MS 65 or better) in the dimes, than in the quarters or halves. So an almost complete gem set is possible.

It will probably take the sale of 2 of the longtime collections to get the present collectors a substantial number of coins for their Barber half sets; I personally do not know where the Barber quarters are hiding. I do know that several avid collectors have given up on completing the series.