Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

WARNING - Certified coin thread

ajaanajaan Posts: 17,116 ✭✭✭✭✭
I just returned from a week in Canada* and while I was gone a package arrived from NGC. Turnaround times seem to be growing at NGC, they received my coins on July 1 and mailed them out July 23.

I have noticed a few treads at NGC lately, at least with coins I've sent them:

#1 AU58 grades. I have never received as many AU58 grades as I have before. In my last two submissions I received 6 out of the 20 coins have been graded AU58. Now I'm not an expert grader, but I do know something about grading, and these AU58 coins are killers. One was even taken from an ICCS MS60 'slab'.

#2 What the heck is with NGC and BN designations for copper? Two coins I got back today are no question RB and NGC gives them BN. Has anyone else noticed this? Has NGC tightened up their criteria for RB coins? Must a coin now be 40% red to get a RB?

* I have a couple off topic questions for people who live around Toronto:

#1 Does anyone stay at home on the weekend? It seems like every single car in the metro Toronto area was on the road last weekend and today.

#2 How does the road authority collect the tolls on the 407 ETR? If they take a photo of my back plate how do they collect the toll money?

DPOTD-3
'Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery'

CU #3245 B.N.A. #428

Don

Comments

• Options
    AethelredAethelred Posts: 9,288 ✭✭✭

<< <i>#2 What the heck is with NGC and BN designations for copper? Two coins I got back today are no question RB and NGC gives them BN. Has anyone else noticed this? Has NGC tightened up their criteria for RB coins? Must a coin now be 40% red to get a RB? >>

Yes, they are brutal on giving RED and RB to copper, always have been!
    If you are in the Western North Carolina area, please consider visiting our coin shop:

WNC Coins, LLC
    1987-C Hendersonville Road
    Asheville, NC 28803

wnccoins.com
  • Options
    ClankeyeClankeye Posts: 3,928