Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Could I have opinions on my Ptolemy Coin?

Hi,

Could I have opinions on my Ptolemy Coin?

I picked it up in an ancient lot… it looked authentic however, I’m curious about the pitting… could that point to this being a counterfeit?

Also, assuming it’s legitimate… any ideas on the age or under which Ptolemy king this was minted?

There are other coins on this page, please feel free to ignore the others.
Ptolemy Coin

Thanks in advance,
Anthony

Comments

• Options
    Nice looking example. I am no expert in ancients so I can't say much more.
    Bill

09/07/2006
  • Options
    oldshepoldshep Posts: 3,240
    Very interesting - neat eagle (or vulture) on the reverse. Wish I could help but all I can do is look and enjoy.
    Shep
  • Options
    Hi,

Thanks for the responses.... any one else? I couldn't find an online link to the Ptolemy kings or coins.

Thanks again,
    Anthony
  • Options
    AskariAskari Posts: 3,713
    Welcome to the Forum, SirAnthony! Our ancients experts ought to drop by over the course of the weekend. I wouldn't say, though, that pitting would by itself signify a counterfeit. Many ancient coins have been in the ground so long that the details yours shows aren't even distinguishable.
    Askari

Come on over ... to The Dark Side! image
  • Options
    GDJMSPGDJMSP Posts: 799
    Sir Anthony -

Since we didn't seem to have any ancients experts stepping forward to answer your question - I went and asked one image

This is his reply -

The top is a Ptolemaic bronze - Zeus on the obverse and an eagle on a
    thunderbolt on the reverse. I've got ones along those lines on this page:

http://www.lotn.org/~calkinsc/coins/000021.html

Not sure off hand which particular Ptolemy as several had similar types, but it
    does look real to me. The denomination too I also can't really tell without a
    measurement of weight and diameter - the ones on my page range from quarter to
    dollar size.