Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newbie Question About PCGS Grading

Hello All:

I'm new to the hobby and sent my first coin in for grading using the free membership. What I sent was an 1894 Morgan Dollar. Actually it was my mother-in-law's coin that she wants to get rid of (along with a bunch of other coins). Anyway, being new to the hobby I figured I'd try out PCGS to see how everything works, since this coin would be worth slabbing. I just checked the grade online and they said it was "Artificially Colored"!!!! I know that she stored it in a plastic tube wrapped in tin foil for years (I know, why didn't she use sandpaper). There were other coins in the tube as well. Now to be honest, the coin is very dark - not rainbow colored like you'd expect it to be if someone was attempting to tone the coin for sale. I have a very terrible scan of it, but this coin on EBay is very close in color
Dark Morgan . Can anyone shed some light on this for me, because it was my understanding that a coin didn't have to shine and sparkle to be graded. Any suggestions on what to do? Should I try selling it as-is, or is there something else I can do. As far as wear goes, this coin only has 2-3 scratches on the surfaces. Until now I've been happy with PCGS...but this is not a good start for me. The worst part is I'm not even a Morgan fan...as the first set I'm working on is my favorite - SBAs.

Comments

• Options
    FatManFatMan Posts: 8,977
    Here's a Big Fat Welcome to ya!image
    And welcome to the world of PCGS Body Bags. There are many things that PCGS looks for when evaluating the toning on a coin. Many are highly subjective and their assesments are not always correct. If you know how to use the forum search try searching "Artificial Toning" to learn more.
  • Options
    Catch22Catch22 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭