Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A cleaned 1916-D Mercury...what to do?

StoogeStooge Posts: 4,649 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have a friend that is coming up on 60 years old and he assembled an entire set of mercury dimes from pocket change when he was a kid and has a 1916-D that is harshly cleaned. He showed it to me and it looks vf-xf.

My question is this: He cleaned the coin some 40 years ago, now is there anything you can do to reverse this? He would like to have the coin graded, so he may sell it. I have no experience with cleaned coins, because I have never bothered to clean one.

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Paul.

Later, Paul.

Comments

• Options
    GATGAT Posts: 3,146
    Only service that would grade it is ANACS with a net grade.
    USAF vet 1951-59
  • Options
  • Options
    GATGAT Posts: 3,146
    Before the wags post, I should say ACG, PCI and NTC etc would grade it.
    USAF vet 1951-59
  • Options
    Sell it to me... I'll buy it image
  • Options
    XpipedreamRXpipedreamR Posts: 8,059 ✭✭
    Is the rest of the set raw? It sounds like it is. Why not just keep it all uniform?
  • Options
    I have a raw set of Lincolns and the 1909-s vdb is a solid ms62, except that somewhere in the past it got cleaned, not bad, but bad enough to body bag and I'll tell ya it is a sweet cent and a heck of alot less expensive. I bought the coin for the value, hmmmm.. an interesting concept. Slabbed 09-s's are overrated and over valued.

Stands to reason the value of this Merc set is an instance where the "whole" may have more value than the single.. who cares if a circulated set is slabbed.

My only curiousity would be to authenticate the 16-d.. send it to ANACS, then crack it back out and put it back in the hole and tape the ANACS label below the 16-d hole.

My fav's are circulated and change found sets.
    gravity--it's the law.
  • Options
    tsacchtsacch Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭
    leave it as is and get it graded and slabbed by anacs.