Home U.S. Coin Forum

Opinions on this Ebay 1798 Bust $ - closes 4/5

au58au58 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭
Thoughts, please.

Comments

• rottnrogrottnrog Posts: 683 ✭✭✭

• StuartStuart Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭✭✭
    AU58 -- Where's the coin that you are asking about?? All I can see is a blank post with no coin or coin link image

Stuart

Collect 18th & 19th Century US Type Coins, Silver Dollars, $20 Gold Double Eagles and World Crowns & Talers with High Eye Appeal

"Luck is what happens when Preparation meets Opportunity"
  • JohnZJohnZ Posts: 1,732
    Do you mean this one?

I'm no expert on these, so I couldn't tell you if it was the real McCoy, but I certainly wouldn't spend that kind of money on a coin that isn't authenticated by one of the top three TPG's. Hell, I don't even like to spend $200 on a raw coin.

We ARE watching you.

• PlacidPlacid Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭
    If its that one. Its raw on eBay. The seller has a fair amount of negs more than 1 for every 100.
  • au58au58 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭
    Sorry for the confusion. Thanks to JohnZ for the correct link.

<< <i>I certainly wouldn't spend that kind of money on a coin that isn't authenticated by one of the top three TPG's. >>

Good advice quoted above from JohnZ...

Do the horizontal & vertical lines in the shield on the reverse appear to be diagonal instead of straight up & down or is it an optical illusion from the photo ??

There's something about the coin's surface texture that just doesn't seem right -- like it's been abrasively cleaned... ?? image

Stuart

Collect 18th & 19th Century US Type Coins, Silver Dollars, $20 Gold Double Eagles and World Crowns & Talers with High Eye Appeal

• Stuart, you are correct about the surfaces. Specifically, the coin has been tooled, probably to remove scratches or graffiti. I would net the coin to F-12, if I am feeling generous. The coin is a common variety: B-6, R.2