Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Coins pulled from circulation vs Mint sets

Hi Guys-
I am new to the PCGS certification game. I have a stupid question about submitting recent uncirculated coins (2000-2004) that maybe one of you can answer for me. Does PCGS treat coins pulled from circulation the same as those that are pulled from mint sets? The mint says “These coins are minted on special presses and are struck with greater force than circulating coins producing a sharp intricately detailed image.”
Thanks for your help-

Comments

• Options
    HootHoot Posts: 867
    PCGS or any other TPG will treat the coin identically to any other coin of the same issue. I have pulled moderns from bank rolls and had them graded. The only considerations worth mentioning are if the coin is a specimen or SMS issue, then the TPG will note the coin as such.

Hoot
    From this hour I ordain myself loos'd of limits and imaginary lines. - Whitman
  • Options
    clackamasclackamas Posts: 5,615
    There is no difference between mint set coins and the ones you get at the bank. Many times the bank rolls can provide nicer examples. If the mint set is a "Special mint Set - SMS" then PCGS will treat it diffenent but not the "uncirculated sets".

• Options
    cladkingcladking Posts: 28,354 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It's not possible to tell the difference between two coins struck from identically
    prepared dies. It would be if there were no variation in the minting process, but
    this is not the case. While new dies are used in the production of mint set coins
    and are retired after only around 30,000 strikes, all production dies begin as new
    dies also (except retired mint set dies). The mint set dies are installed in single
    presses so they tend to be better alligned but they aren't always perfect and the
    quad presses sometimes are. Mint set coins are struck at lower speed so the de-
    sign is more likely to come up, but again some coins struck at high speed will be