Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Any Morgan experts still awake? :)

What is your expert opinion about this Morgan? grade? value? cleaned? not? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I don't see much wrong with it unless it has been cleaned. There is no toning and is very pretty. Do the grading companies slab cleaned Morgans? Is this one cleaned? whatdoyathink? Thanks in advance for your help. I am trying to decide if I want to buy this and how much is fair to offer.

1985 Morgan - Obverse

1985 Morgan - Reverse

Comments

• Options
    JohnZJohnZ Posts: 1,732
    Who are you buying it from and for how much?

We ARE watching you.

• Options
    John - from my son, and this is one of his Morgans. I don't know how much, but want to be fair to him and to me. I don't see any problems with it, but don't know much about grading.
  • Options
    hookedoncoinshookedoncoins Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭
    I'm not an expert, but I'll give you my opinion anyhow.

I would grade the coin MS64. As for value, I would say around $20 give or take a few if it is raw... if it is slabbed, add a few more to it. The coin hasn't been cleaned (excepting perhaps an old dip). Grading companies grade morgans that have been dipped, but not morgans that have been harshly cleaned. Dipping is considered market acceptable and I am fairly certain PCGS, or any grading company for that matter, would grade the coin.

I, personally, wouldn't submit that coin for grading considering the coin is not worth grading fees IMO.

-Jarrett Roberts

P.S. - I think it is 1885, not 1985. 1985 is my birth year and I don't think i'm that old.

Edit: Not being an expert on morgans, I based my price on the value of raw BU morgans on eBay completed items.
  • Options
    PlacidPlacid Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭
    I am awake but not a expert.
    Should make 64 at least maybe 65.
    $40 is a fair price for a 64.
    Pics are a little small.

• Options
    you're right - sorry for typo - it's been a long day. It is 1885.
  • Options