Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

The toned vs.untoned debate. Why does it have to be so absolute?

This really interests me. I have been collecting seriously for over twenty five years. I prefer both white and toned coins. I have seen white coins with blinding knockout luster that drips off the coins like liquid chrome and I have seen toned coins that sizzle with rainbow colors. I have also encountered ugly coins within both realms as well as average ones within both categories. Aesthetics is not a black and white matter. It is highly subjective. I cannot understand how some people are so absolute in their collecting criteria. This is not a black & white matter, at least for me it isn't.
I think those who place themselves within such a box, are missing out on alot, or perhaps, as their collecting patterns mature, they may become more open minded. I really don't know, its just hard to comprehend the recent threads and how absolute and firm they are in their stance.
I can fully understand how some folks are very firm within the series they collect, I am one of them, but luster, color, and toning, are so subjective,much more so than the aesthetics of a design. I can see someone saying, The SBA dollar is an ugly coin, I can respect that, or the Barber dime is average in its design, or "I love Walkers", etc, . Those are fixed and concrete designs that are absolute and will not change, so its a simpler matter of aesthetics., but toning and luster, and eye appeal. Those are far more fragile. Just my opinion.

Comments

• Options
    TassaTassa Posts: 2,373 ✭✭
  • Options
    I agree. It seems odd to me too. Like you say...an SBA is an SBA is an SBA (or insert any series). But there is so much variety to a coins appearance between Blast White and Dark Black that I can't say Blast White Only or Toned Only.

I enjoy both untoned and toned coins even though I do have definite tastes when it comes to the type of toning that I like.