Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Amazing toned 1922 Peace Dollar Electric-Blue, blue, maroon, orange, etc.

I am not an expert to toning, and I just recently found out (through these boards) that toned peace dollars arent common. A few years ago, I went to my grandmothers house in Colorado after she died (to clean up the house, it was a royal mess). While I was there, I found many coins (this is actually where I really got started in coins). Among the many many other finds, I found a small wooden box in one of the drawers. In the box were quite a few coins in 2x2's that looked as though they were there for decades (the 2x2s were falling apart). All of the coins were well toned. Whenever I show the coins to someone, they almost always say that they are artificially toned. On the other hand, I KNOW AS A FACT THAT THESE COINS WERE NATURALLY TONED. All of the coins were either gotten from the mint by my grandmother, or were gotten from the mint by my great-grandmother who gave them to my grandmother. Neither of them knew anything about coins, and have kept the coins just laying around since. I am posting some pictures of one of the toned coins here, it is a 1922 Peace Dollar. The coin looks a little different in real life, but I feel the pictures are a good reflection of the coins actual appearance. Please tell me what you think. PS: If you want this coin, it is up for sale, just make me an offer.
imageimageimage
imageimageimage
imageimageimage
Retail coin dealers, the only people who can buy a $10 coin for $2, and sell it for $30.

Comments

• Options
    FC57CoinsFC57Coins Posts: 9,140

<< <i>I KNOW AS A FACT THAT THESE COINS WERE NATURALLY TONED >>

OK - enlighten us if you would.

Generally these coins don't tone in these colors and these patterns. In addition, your coin looks like it's seen some circulation, which then changes the whole color composition of the toning. So, unless you can enlighten me in a very convincing way, I'd say your coin is AT.

Frank