Home U.S. Coin Forum

Do you carry a lucky coin?

Just curious, if you do now or have in the past.

I used to years ago - a 1979 SBA -> then someone told me they were unlucky.

Now I think I will again but can't decide on what.

What is yours - and why?

Comments

• RussRuss Posts: 48,514 ✭✭✭
    I'm thinking about doing that if I can just remember what coin I had in my pocket last time I visited a flea market.

Russ, NCNE
  • jbstevenjbsteven Posts: 6,178
    I have had a 1893 S Morgan in my pocket for the last 6 years. darn thing is almost smooth.
  • TheNumishTheNumish Posts: 1,628 ✭✭
    I have a 1877 Trade dollar and a 1834 Bust Half with holes that I keep on my key chain. Both coins were xf/au when I got them and are now VF. I've been carrying them around for about 15 years.
  • nwcsnwcs Posts: 13,386 ✭✭✭
    Nope, never tried to carry a lucky coin. Coins with me will be spent if not in a holder...
  • I carry a 1864 2c piece that was mixed in with some foreign coins I bought for my granddaughter. It was a G-4 in the beginning.image
    Gary
  • trozautrozau Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭
    I moved the coin below into an Air-Tite holder and now have it as my pocket piece. It is a 1/10 troy ounce gold Vault Protector coin minted in 1982 by the China Mint (mintage 1500). In the olden days, Chinese Emperors kept Vault Protector coins to protect their treasures and to bring them good luck and good fortune. image

trozau (troy ounce gold)
  • scherscher Posts: 924
    i carry a 1911 ten dollar gold coin..its in nice shape and i love the desing ..i have started a collection of this series in proof.
    bruce scher
  • islemanguislemangu Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭
    An old 80-s circulated morgan. 1st coin my Grandfather gave me when I was around 8 years old. I only carry it when Im travelling so its always in my passport bag.

My ebay coin/card auctions
    YCCTidewater.com