Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1st Post - Grading services ?

I have been reading the forum for awhile this is my first post, I am going to ask a very touchy question. Can anyone explain to me why there is such a huge difference in price's of coins graded by different companies. Example 1986-2002 17 coin set MS69 SAE Icg $245, NGC $450 and PCGS $950. I have read the PCGS vs NGC threads recently that talk of quality, but what about the money issue is the old saying true, you get what you pay for? I am a rookie have only been "in" for about a year. image

Comments

• Options
    Welcome Big! IMO it is demand, demand and demand!
  • Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,128 ✭✭✭✭✭
    There is a preceived value in PCGS graded Moderns over the others.
    Also, in MS69- there are a couple of (grade) scarce coins with the ASE's, namely the 1993 and 1996 (or, is that 1994?).

Welcome!

peacockcoins

• Options
    ms71ms71 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭✭✭
    As mentioned, there is a perceived difference in the grading standards among the various grading companies. The best approach is to examine enough coins to make the judgement for yourself, but that's quite a challenge for most of us who attend a very few shows in a year and have few if any large local dealers. Unless you're around the stuff all the time, it's very difficult to gain the experience needed to make vey fine grading distinctions. This is especially true if you're talking about considering only the "upper tier" grading companies. Differences, if any, among them can be very slight, and then it's only "on average". A given 69 in slab A can and will be better than a 69 in a slab B, even though the average slab B may be better than the average slab A. The best you can do is study as much of the stuff as you can find, and arrive at your own conclusion. Welcome!
    Successful BST transactions: EagleEye, Christos, Proofmorgan,