Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1799 $10 (Any old gold experts out there?)

Closed Auction Safe to assume this is not genuine? Anyone versed in the early gold area wish to chime in?
Mark

Comments

• Options
    PlacidPlacid Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭
    Looks fake to me. I have looked at alot of gold and the color of that one dosen't look right to me.
    I am no expert thou.
  • Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Gallery Mint reproduction? They've made these 1799's. Does the upper reverse shield look tooled where the COPY would have been?!

peacockcoins

• Options
    darktonedarktone Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭
    That is a $7,000+ coin if it's real. Chance of being real 0%. I have bought several fakes from germany. German ebay is the most dishonest part of ebay not only do you see alot of fakes but with German privacy laws sellers can bid on there own goods with no way to tell if it's a schill bid. mike
  • Options
    1jester1jester Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭
    I agree that the color doesn't look right to me, but with the caveat that it's very difficult to ascertain proper color with just a scan. But I would say that the strike looks WAY too modern; older coins will look less uniform and less even. This one simply looks too modern. I can't tell if the shield is tooled or not, but it doesn't look right, either. By the way, the seller has added two comments. In the first one, he says that other eBay users have suggested that this coin is/might be a fake. He says it may be a restrike from 1900, but it certainly is made of gold. He says he knows nothing about the authenticity of the coin, but welcomes any advice in this regard, which he promises to publish on the auction site. In his second addition, he answers questions about the weight and measurements of the coin, but adds that he doesn't possess a micrometer.

Most likely fake. Many exist in Europe of many different coins; the sellers and counterfeiters rely on the buyers' ignorance and willingness to be suckered.