Home U.S. Coin Forum

Please help me: value of a holed 1896 S Dime

As a total newbee around US coins I need your help again.
Today I found a holed 1896 S Barber Dime in a collection of silver coins which I had brought for melt value. According to my catalogue it's considered to be a (semi-) key date.
Do you think it's still appealing to any collector, and if so, how would you price it?
Thank you in advance and best regards,
Göttinger

Comments

• mr1931Smr1931S Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭✭✭

A curiousity, no more than a $5 coin in my opinion.

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.-Albert Einstein

• 291fifth291fifth Posts: 24,297 ✭✭✭✭✭

VF details, holed, environmental damage. While it is a better date Barber dime the problems are severe. There are a few collectors who buy holed coins but the environmental damage might cause them to pass on that one. The market for that coin would likely be very thin so I would personally value it at $5 or less. I would not be a buyer.

All glory is fleeting.
  • VeepVeep Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭✭

Sell it at auction (eBay), then you’ll know the price.

"Let me tell ya Bud, you can buy junk anytime!"
  • GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭✭✭

Certainly not something that I would buy, it is now a damaged coin.

• GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭✭✭

Certainly not something that I would buy, it is now a damaged coin.

• jonathanbjonathanb Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Veep said:

This is the best advice. I bet it would sell for more than the $5 suggested here, because you never know with eBay. But probably nowhere near $100, or even $50.

• lkeneficlkenefic Posts: 8,160 ✭✭✭✭✭

@jonathanb said:

@Veep said:

This is the best advice. I bet it would sell for more than the $5 suggested here, because you never know with eBay. But probably nowhere near $100, or even $50.