Home U.S. Coin Forum

Weird error penny

Brittie1226Brittie1226 Posts: 7
edited June 4, 2024 12:51PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I found a penny and i am not sure if its a rare error or if its just a messed up penny. Can i please get someone to help me im pisting puctures of front and back of coin... thank you

Comments

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 4, 2024 1:57PM

That sure is weird and unique looking! Very interesting! I know it's PMD, just wondering what may have caused this unique design or pattern?.. A dryer coin?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• FredWeinbergFredWeinberg Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭✭✭

PMD

Retired Collector & Dealer in Major Mint Error Coins & Currency since the 1960's.Co-Author of Whitman's "100 Greatest U.S. Mint Error Coins", and the Error Coin Encyclopedia, Vols., III & IV. Retired Authenticator for Major Mint Errors
    for PCGS. A 49+-Year PNG Member...A full numismatist since 1972, retired in 2022
  • jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,409 ✭✭✭✭✭

100% genuine messed up Lincoln cent.

Welcome to the forum

• TomBTomB Posts: 21,108 ✭✭✭✭✭

Absolutely messed with.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭✭

Not an error of any kind.
    To be an error it would have to happen during the striking of the coin
    and there is no way that could happen then. Just another damaged cent.

• CopperindianCopperindian Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭✭✭

Messed up penny is your answer….

“The thrill of the hunt never gets old”

PCGS Registry: Screaming Eagles
    Copperindian

Retired sets: Soaring Eagles
    Copperindian

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭✭✭

I was also wondering it it could have been a close AM. I guess not.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )