Home U.S. Coin Forum

Inspired by DeplorableDan's post, this is my second try on photography

Seraph21Seraph21 Posts: 48 ✭✭✭
edited August 6, 2024 6:17PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Hi all, I got inspired by @DeplorableDan and giving numismatic photography a try again. I will have to say manual focus on a macro lens without remote shooting is insanely hard. All my previous tries always turned out weird with bad colors or nowhere close to in hand visuals. I'm still working on it, and it's been quite fun. Photoshop's also doing alot of the work ha.

So here's my second try at photography after increasing the amount of lighting.

There's no TrueView for this coin as it's in a OH, I probably also overpaid for this coin.

GTG reveal - MS64FH

Comments

• GoldbullyGoldbully Posts: 17,096 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 23, 2024 5:02PM

I'm no photography expert, but I know what I like in coin images and that one is most appealing.

AU58

edited to add: I know nothing about SLQ's. 😉

• braddickbraddick Posts: 23,712 ✭✭✭✭✭

MS65

peacockcoins

• jfriedm56jfriedm56 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice photography. Your photos look quite detailed. Much better than any of mine. MS-65 FH.

• SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,473 ✭✭✭✭✭

65FH.

• ConnecticoinConnecticoin Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks AU58 to me, there appears to be rub on the obverse based on the photos.

• PeakRaritiesPeakRarities Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not bad! Glad I was able to help :) .

I’ll go 64 to be different.

Founder- Peak Rarities
    Website
    Instagram
    Facebook

• Seraph21Seraph21 Posts: 48 ✭✭✭

@FlyingAl would you be willing to give me some advice on how I can improve these photos? Right now I'm using a singular light source.

• FlyingAlFlyingAl Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭✭✭

You're gonna want three light sources - I recommend LED desk lamps.

Coin Photographer.

• raycycaraycyca Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭