Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Question about PCGS slab number sequence

Why are the vast majority of PCGS slabs in order (recently passed 50000000) but occasionally I'll see an 8 digit code that starts with a 7 or 8?

For example, 72164119 is a half eagle slabbed between 1998-2002 per the slab museum. Most slabs from that era are 8 digits and start with a 1 or 2.

As an anal-retentive CPA, I need to know (even though I'm sure the answer isn't too important haha).

Comments

• Options
    lilolmelilolme Posts: 2,517 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Baylor8670 said:

Why are the vast majority of PCGS slabs in order (recently passed 50000000) but occasionally I'll see an 8 digit code that starts with a 7 or 8?

For example, 72164119 is a half eagle slabbed between 1998-2002 per the slab museum. Most slabs from that era are 8 digits and start with a 1 or 2.

As an anal-retentive CPA, I need to know (even though I'm sure the answer isn't too important haha).

Winesteven had a thread and asked a similar question. Link is below. Might help settle your "anal-retentive CPA". :)
    In short, in the past pcgs would appear to issue blocks of numbers and submitted coins would be in number sequence when submitted starting with the 'block' numbers. Then the block could change and then maybe change back again but submitted coins would be in a number sequence.

https://forums.collectors.com/discussion/1097864/museum-of-pcgs-coin-holders-estimated-range-of-original-cert-numbers-for-each-type>

https://youtube.com/watch?v=2YNufnS_kf4 - Mama I'm coming home ...................................................................................................................................................................... RLJ 1958 - 2023

• Options
    Baylor8670Baylor8670 Posts: 54 ✭✭✭

@lilolme said:
    @Baylor8670 said:

Winesteven had a thread and asked a similar question. Link is below. Might help settle your "anal-retentive CPA". :)