Home U.S. Coin Forum

What Were The 4 or 5 Coins You Dreamed Of Having As A Kid, That You Own Today?

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited May 13, 2024 12:57PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Anyone can play but this is targeted more to the baby boomer generation, born between 46 and 64. I'll hold off with my answer. I don't want the skew or influence any answers. I'm curious to see of many of us fell into the same category of interests.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• DisneyFanDisneyFan Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭✭✭

A Hawaiian. It was the first coin I bought when I restarted collecting in my 50s

• yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭✭✭
    • 1c 1909-S VDB, bought from my grandpa's collection
    • 5c 1937-D 3 legged, bought from my grandpa's collection
    • $1 1800 bust dollar, because it looks like the 1804 in the blue book I had as a kid
    • $10 1926 Indian, a beautiful coin
    • $20 1924 St. Gaudens, a classic US coin
  • Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 6,812 ✭✭✭✭✭

I wanted a 16-d merc but I managed to save up and get one as a kid. I don't own it today though.

• lcutlerlcutler Posts: 544 ✭✭✭✭

Pine tree shilling, Fugio cent, chain cent. Haven't got that bust dollar yet!

• NeophyteNumismatistNeophyteNumismatist Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭✭✭

I didn't start collecting as a kid, but only started a few years ago. I never thought I would get in this deep (surprise surprise). While I am no "big time" collector, I am very proud of the half cents I have been able to acquire. I feel that the set I am building is "nice" by most people's standards... and, it's been a tremendous education. I am very fortunate and grateful for the progress.

I am a newer collector (started April 2020), and I primarily focus on U.S. Half Cents and Type Coins. Early copper is my favorite.

• MrEurekaMrEureka Posts: 24,183 ✭✭✭✭✭