Home Q & A Forum

Cleaned?

I’m new to the coin game and have been told this coin is cleaned and also purchased it from a reputable source that I have seen many other coins labeled as cleaned, yet this one wasn’t.

Hoping all you that are more expert than I can help me out.

Comments

• GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭✭

Doesn’t look cleaned to me.
    There may be just a bit of toning starting around the edge of the rim.

• Thanks for your thoughts. It didn’t look any different than the other one I have, except for the little bit of toning on the edge that you mentioned. I got it along with a bronzed toned one. So was listing this one and the comments said they thought it was cleaned. I took the listing down and will take it to a shop for an in person consult. I don’t want to be selling it as something it isn’t. But like I mentioned the auction site typically says a coin is cleaned, even if the holder doesn’t. I’d like to trust the auction house over the internet, but I’m a novice at best to know the difference.

• RSBRSB Posts: 19