Home U.S. Coin Forum

Is this a 2023 over date?

Rice_BanditRice_Bandit Posts: 15
edited March 29, 2024 10:18PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Looks like an offset deep pressed "Liberty" and the "2023" year.

I'm new to this. After Googling this, I think this is called an "overdate". I not sure if this is what it actually is. I don't think this is an error but just looks weird.

Tagged:

Comments

• Rice_BanditRice_Bandit Posts: 15
    edited March 29, 2024 10:19PM

Sorry if this is in the wrong area

• Rice_BanditRice_Bandit Posts: 15
    edited March 29, 2024 10:25PM

It can be seen on the back as well on the on various text, but best on "Five Cents"

• jacrispiesjacrispies Posts: 831 ✭✭✭✭✭

I see die deterioration doubling. An overdate, if the same date, would be a repunched date.

"But seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you" Matthew 6:33. Young fellow suffering from Bust Half fever.
    BHNC #AN-10
    JRCS #1606

• GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭✭

Can’t be an overdate, the last overdate I think was in 1909.
    That is just, as stated, Die Deterioration Doubling, a mother worthless type of doubling.

• MFeldMFeld Posts: 13,153 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 30, 2024 4:34AM

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think he meant overdate in the sense of a number punch. The coins above are technically doubled dies.

• MFeldMFeld Posts: 13,153 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Manifest_Destiny said:
    I think he meant overdate in the sense of a number punch. The coins above are technically doubled dies.

Were you referring to the “coins above” that I posted? If so, I’ve always seen them listed as overdates, never doubled dies.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

@MFeld said:

@Manifest_Destiny said: