Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Feel like I'm getting punked by PCGS

Sent in a bunch of coins for reholder and trueviews. All of the coins are 1878p Morgans for my registry sets and showcase. I've been building this collection for 15 years and have acquired all but 9 of all known 1878p varieties. (200+ different varieties) I consider myself an expert in 1878's varieties and probably have one of the greatest 1878p sets ever put together. (feel free to look at my signature with sets)

PCGS didn't attribute one of the coins but charged me $10 for the review. The coin they didn't attribute is literally one of the most common 7TF varieties a VAM-30 extra talon.

So I emailed customer service asking why they didn't attribute. They said, sorry not one of the varieties they attribute. I sent a reply saying you have to be kidding and sent them the coin number, screen shot of the variety list, the trueview and said I expect you to fix this as a mechanical error.

They replied oops sorry you're right but that they reviewed my coin and it doesn't match. I almost fell out of my chair. Of course I replied back with screenshots of every marker for a VAM-30, and also 2 of my current VAM-30's with trueviews that match exactly..

I am still waiting for their reply to my last email sent yesterday but starting to get upset at this point.

Comments

• Options
    WAYNEASWAYNEAS Posts: 6,376 ✭✭✭✭✭

There are many top graders here and I hope that they reach out to you.
    I would recommend that you try crossing it with another grading service and see what they say.
    Your coins are quite an accomplishment and very impressive.
    Wayne

Kennedys are my quest...

• Options
    Project NumismaticsProject Numismatics Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭✭✭

All I can say is … good luck.

• Options
    Pnies20Pnies20 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭✭✭

They did that with my 1809 O-102 XXX edge. Probably just an oversight. The experimental edge is plain as day. Stuff happens.

BHNC #248 … 108 and counting.

• Options