Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee Meeting Recap (February 2024)

KellenCoinKellenCoin Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭✭
edited March 5, 2024 1:31PM in U.S. Coin Forum

My name is Kellen Hoard, and I currently serve as one of the Representatives of the General Public on the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee. I am an undergraduate student, and the youngest person to ever serve on the Committee. For those of you unfamiliar with the CCAC, it was established in 2003 by Congress to advise the Secretary of the Treasury on the themes and designs of all US coins and medals. The CCAC serves as an informed, experienced and impartial resource to the Secretary of the Treasury and represents the interests of American citizens and collectors.

Dr. Lawrence Brown (@Casabrown), who recently finished his term as Chair of the CCAC, has been quite good about keeping this forum appraised about its workings. Now that his time on the committee has concluded, I hope to fill that role in part by providing information about what the CCAC is doing at its meetings. I think it is critical that the collecting community have insight into and input to the CCAC, and will try to answer any questions you may have.

Here is my update for the CCAC meeting on February 27, 2024.

1. New member Annelia Purdie, a research and reference librarian, was sworn in as a new member. Her term will run from 2024-2028.

2. Candidate designs for the 2025 American Innovation $1 Coin honoring innovation in Florida were discussed in consultation with the Florida governor's office, and the design below was recommended by the CCAC to the Secretary of the Treasury. The innovation theme was the "Space Shuttle Program."

3. Candidate designs for the 2025 American Innovation $1 Coin honoring innovation in Texas were discussed in consultation with the Texas governor's office, and the design below was recommended by the CCAC to the Secretary of the Treasury. The innovation theme was "Mission Control."