Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Rare coins in wild, they are out there, here is proof

I bought this 1882 0 coin raw and already had it in my stash before I started studying Vams. To my SHOCK lol I suspected it was an O/S Vam 4 but had no idea it would turn out to be a quadruple rarity. An 82 O/S Vam 4 EDS Proof Like. What a shocker, I had to go through the whole pile and found some cool Vams lol

This coin must have been early out of the shoot and must have been hit by every single coin after, I was worried it would come back cleaned with all the chatter but I got lucky. It has deep mirrors if you can see past the chatter. I thought it should be a 58 or 60 but I wont push my luck

Comments

• Options

I forgot to mention I paid $57 for coin on Fleabay

• Options
    cheezhedcheezhed Posts: 5,705 ✭✭✭✭✭

Now if you can get that into a PCGS PL holder you’d really have something.

Many happy BST transactions
  • Options
    IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭✭✭

@dsalesco FYI, not all varieties are rare.

• Options

@cheezhed said:

Yeah I want too but Im scared I might lose grade

• Options

@Relaxn said:
    No idea what the coin is worth but you sound excited and I love that!! That is what it is all about.
    The coin has that appearance that only Morgan fans can love.

Im just happy it found me..... gotta love morgans

• Options
    RobertScotLoverRobertScotLover Posts: 727 ✭✭✭✭

I don't understand why you believe this variety to be rare?

• Options

@RobertScotLover said:

well maybe because there are only about 12 PL out there, that might be why

• Options

Although the O/S has fallen in popularity, it is more rare than the 1882 O, the vam 4 is the rarest of the three, and the early die state is more rare than late die state, and even knowing this coin is the lowest of the proof likes, its rare enough for me and makes a nice addition to my complete set. Currently there are two ms45 on ebay, ugly and not PL asking 2500.

• Options
    dsalescodsalesco Posts: 38 ✭✭