Home U.S. Coin Forum

Philly Mint vs. Denver Mint

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭✭✭

Let's take a survey.

With whatever experiences you have had with these two Mints over the years... In your personal and professional opinions, which mint produced the most major errors (real or intentionally manipulated), damaged coins in proof and mint sets, odd minor anomalies (grease filled dies, struck thru crap, clashes, die cracks, off center, etc..) and packaging errors. Basically, the most quality control issues.. Philadelphia or Denver?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Philly Mint vs. Denver Mint

Sign in to vote!
This is a public poll: others will see what you voted for.

Comments

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 28,104 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Philadelphia

I went with Philly, they been around lots longer,fwiw

• CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,984 ✭✭✭✭✭

Obviously we are only talking the period 1906-date.

I have no intuitive feel one way or the other. Fred should know.

You might want to talk to collectors who collect a specific type of error by date and mint, such as @seanq with clips.

Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • WalkerfanWalkerfan Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭✭✭

Calling @ctf_error_coins

He would know much better than I do.

“I may not believe in myself but I believe in what I’m doing” ~Jimmy Page~

My Full Walker Registry Set (1916-1947):

https://www.ngccoin.com/registry/competitive-sets/16292/

edited December 17, 2023 5:23PM

I forgot about @seanq

Let me call him. Oh, you already did. 😉