Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Coins vs. Stamps since 1980…

MrEurekaMrEureka Posts: 23,949 ✭✭✭✭✭

In the late 70’s, the coin and stamp markets were both very strong. In 1980, both markets tanked. Since then, coins have recovered very strongly, albeit with a few setbacks along the way. Stamps have not done anywhere near as well.

With the benefit of hindsight, do you think the divergence between the two markets was predictable? If so, how might you have explained your prediction?

Andy Lustig

Doggedly collecting coins of the Central American Republic.

Visit the Society of US Pattern Collectors at USPatterns.com.

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,869 ✭✭✭✭✭

The only thing that comes to mind when you talk about coins and stamps, is that the United States Post Office and the United States Mint have mass produced stamps and coins for everyday of the year.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,051 ✭✭✭✭✭

Predictable in 1990? Probably not. But it became clear shortly after that because of a significant drop in the collector base. There just weren't a lot if younger collectors coming in. I had arguments (surprising?) with old-timers in the late 1990s about it. They were convinced that it was a temporary lull and a huge buying opportunity. I was convinced it was a more fundamental shift.

There may be a role played by TPGS's worth discussion. But I'm too tired right now

• Options
    alefzeroalefzero Posts: 875 ✭✭✭✭✭