Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

New to collecting - very overwhelmed

Hi everyone,
I am completely new to this world and have wanted to pick it up as a new hobby but I’m so confused with all of the different cards available these days. I feel like 20 years ago there was only a few companies/packs to choose from and now all these companies have a million different sets.
I’m sticking with baseball cards for now but a question I have is, is there a site to go to to look up a cards value?
Without getting into the weeds, is there any specific info you’d pass to a new collector?
Thanks so much for the assistance.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    HappytrailsHappytrails Posts: 15 ✭✭
    edited March 22, 2023 8:18AM

https://130point.com/sales/. ~ A good Site for sale prices on both ebay and auctions..... I collect MLB and I'd get fluent with the main 5-6 offerings.....look for the highest liquidity in sales. Topps Chrome, T.C. Update, Bowman Chrome, Topps Heritage etc... It's going to be a real 6 months to understand it all depending on your passion... and then another lifetime after that :)

• Options
    JolleyWrencherJolleyWrencher Posts: 605 ✭✭✭
    edited March 22, 2023 9:53AM

Cards today have many parallels (variations) which have a variety of names and scarcity. If you pickup a modern card then it should be PSA10 or maybe a 9..only go lower if it's very rare (I prefer to buy a very rare card raw).

Terms like prism, prizm, refractor, superfractor, vinyl, every color of the rainbow, all kinds of patterns (waves, ice, etc.).

I am overwhelmed constantly when I begin to go down the rabbit hole.

Take a look at online checklists to see what variations were made. Many HOF players are released every year if you still want to collect past players.

• Options
    JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,233 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome!!
    You said hobby, so I am going to assume you're doing it for fun and not profit.