Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Different Labels

Why in the world are there so many different labels? I am new at collecting slabbed coins. I would mainly collect uncirculated coins and put them in books. But now I am starting to collect slabbed coins. One thing that has me so confused is all the different labels. I seen the same coin at different prices because of the label. I know on the state coins I been collecting the coins with the state flag labels. As far a the national park coins I been trying to get the First Strike labels. I see that there are different types of first day of issue labels as well. Then on top of that you have the different grading companies. You have PCGS and NGC. Which company is better? I have some of both. I didn't realize at first that PCGS used PR when they graded their coins and NGC used PF when they graded their coins. Is PR better than PF? I have seen that a lot of time a PR 69/70 graded coin will go for a little higher price than a PF 69/70 graded coin even though they are the same coin. If anyone can help make some sense out of this confusion I would greatly appreciate it.

Comments

• Options
    GrantuGrantu Posts: 188 ✭✭✭

First of all, welcome to the forum! There’s a lot to unpack here so I’ll address one of your questions and let other members chime in on the others.

1. Who is better PCGS or NGC? Well that depends who you ask. Personally, I have no issues with either of them. PCGS sometimes commands a little higher premium than NGC for the same coin but that is up to personal preference. They are both well respected and top notch grading companies. Some have said that PCGS is slightly harsher on grading but for the most part they are pretty close. It seems like you are pretty new so take your time and do your research. Good luck!
  • Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,056 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Okieracing said: