Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1926 S Buffalo grade question.

VetterVetter Posts: 789 ✭✭✭✭✭

I could use a little help or opinions. The 1st pictured 26 S is graded VF30. Would the 2nd 26 S be considered a VF20 or just a F12 or F15? I’ve been playing with Buffalos for what seems forever but they still drive me crazy trying to grade them. Especially the mint marked teens and 20’s. Thanks!

Members I have done business with:
Silverman68, jfoot13, GAB, ricman, Smittys, scrapman1077, RyGuy, Connecticoin, Meltdown, VikingDude, Peaceman, Patches and more.

Comments

• Options
    Shane6596Shane6596 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭✭✭

Im very new at buff nickels, so my grading doesnt hold much weight.

To me it looks in the F15 area.

Successful BST transactions with....Coinslave87, ChrisH821, Walkerguy21D, SanctionII.......................Received "You Suck" award 02/18/23

• Options
    MarkKelleyMarkKelley Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭✭✭

F 15 now, but only a 12 back in the day.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would give it a 20... I am known to be a tad generous on Buffs though... Cheers, RickO

• Options
    streeterstreeter Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭✭✭

Old school .....f-15
    New school revised standards......low vf

Have a nice day
  • Options
    david3142david3142 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭✭✭

I wish the obverse were a tad stronger to match the reverse but with that horn I think you’re getting VF20.

• Options
    crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,809 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 17, 2023 8:03AM

Looks VF-30 to me or maybe a tad better. You guys are being really hard on this beautiful buffalo nickel.
    That’s my opinion,
    Joe

Edited to say the pics you’re showing looks like two different coins. My grading assessment were formed by the top pictures.

The bottom coin looks VF-15.

The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
  • Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭✭✭

Compared to the 1st coin, VF25, but who graded the 1st coin?