Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1 Month as Pocket Piece Experiment - Grades revealed, all came back MS

Mr_SpudMr_Spud Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited March 12, 2023 12:28AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I experimentally carried these modern coins as pocket pieces for a month, rubbed each one every day on both sides with my thumb, and submitted them to PCGS at the last Long Beach Show. I wanted to see if I could get them to grade as AU Everyman
Coins. The grades showed up just today. Guess the Grade I received on them.

Mr_Spud

Comments

• Options
    mirabelamirabela Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭✭✭

mirabela
  • Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,846 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    JeffMTampaJeffMTampa Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭✭✭

I love them Barber Halves.....
  • Options
    SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

• Options
    TennesseeDaveTennesseeDave Posts: 4,743 ✭✭✭✭✭

I will be surprised if all of them straight graded.

Trade $'s
  • Options
    alaura22alaura22 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭✭✭

@TennesseeDave said:

Why wouldn't they?

• Options

@alaura22 said:

@TennesseeDave said:

Why wouldn't they?

Sometimes coins that have been carried in someone's pocket with other coins and keys and such can look like cleaned coins until they tone some.

Trade $'s
  • Options

PCGS graded them all MS. It didn’t work at all to carry them around for a month.

Mr_Spud

• Options
    DeplorableDanDeplorableDan Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 12, 2023 9:13AM

@Mr_Spud said:
    PCGS graded them all MS. It didn’t work at all to carry them around for a month.