Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1876-cc seated liberty quarter..Have you ever heard of a pimpled obverse?

0ronron0ronron Posts: 248 ✭✭✭
edited February 26, 2023 11:45AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Another from my fathers estate...
Is it even real?

Thank you, Heavenly Father, for first loving us.

Comments

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,056 ✭✭✭✭✭

@seatedlib3991 said:
    I am no expert, but the spots on the coin are usually attributed to rusted dies. Gook luck.

Rusted dies was my first thought, as well. Coincidentally, I’ve seen quite a few 1876-CC dimes with that feature.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,336 ✭✭✭✭✭

Here are some examples of rusted die coins.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • Options
    JimTylerJimTyler Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭✭✭

I pop pimples

• Options
    OmegaraptorOmegaraptor Posts: 528 ✭✭✭✭✭

Good ol' die rust. Carson City was a remote Mint location in 1876 and they were cranking out as many coins as they could that year.

Early New Orleans issues could get some seriously bad die rust. The hot and humid climate there definitely didn't help. Here's a particularly severe example:

"You can't get just one gun." "You can't get just one tattoo." "You can't get just one 1796 Draped Bust Large Cent."

• Options
    DelawareDoonsDelawareDoons Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes, that issue has a die pairing with rusted dies.

Caveat; I'm still not sure yours is legit and really would wanna see it in hand.

Professional Numismatist. "It's like God, Family, Country, except Sticker, Plastic, Coin."

• Options
    Project NumismaticsProject Numismatics Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭✭✭