Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

2001 Lincoln Cent found CRH. At first I thought this was post mint damage... buuuttt... is it??

Hello all,

I was doing some coin roll hunting this evening and came across this 2001 Lincoln cent. At first glance, I thought it to be no more than post mint damage. Upon closer inspection, I thought that perhaps it may be something else. I just don't know what. My question is, what is this? What am I looking at here? Is this some type of strike through or brockage or something? Please forgive my ignorance, I'm still learning all these terms, what exactly they are, and how to properly identify them. What really caught my eye was the fact that there seemed to be some type of pattern in the damaged areas. Particularly on the reverse; there are lines that almost resemble wings or something. I have some others that I have questions about too. I thought of putting them all in one post so that I wouldn't inundate the forum with all my newbie questions. I then decided, that was likely a worse idea. Haha. That being said, there will be more posts with lots of pictures and questions. I know that most everyone here has a great deal more experience and knowledge than I do. After all, that's why I joined up. I look forward to your responses and helpful information.

Thank you in advance,
Kyle

Best Answer

• Options
    dsessomdsessom Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭✭✭

Kyle, yes it post mint damage, but I have to say - your photography skills are sick!

Answers

• Options
    ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭

Post mint damage=. (PMD) :/

• Options
    horseyridehorseyride Posts: 122 ✭✭✭

If I had a hammer, I'd hammer in the morning...

• Options