Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

New to grading a card.

I am trying to get a grasp on the whole grading thing. I took some cards to a local card shop (who has been in business since 1985) and asked him what he thought about me sending in some of them. I have been collecting since 1968 when I was 6 and stopped in 1977 or so. I then took it up again in 1987 - 1995. I really only collect or save them because I like how they bring back memories to me of when I was young. I recently started thinking of what to do with them, so my kids don't have to go through them all when I am gone.
The local dealer looked through all my 50 or so cards I brought in that I opened the packs of when I was 6-12 years old and have kept in a large storage box at my moms and then at my house. I have about 500,000 total cards but only brought 50 or so for him to look at. He took them and shuffled through them in about 2 mins and said that he would do only these 5 cards. 1969 Reggie Jackson, 1969-70 Lew Alcindor rookie, 1970 Nolan Ryan, 1970 Johnny Bench and 1970 Thurman Munson. All which I thought looked pretty good. He told me that the Lew A would probably grade as a A because of what he thought was a "short cut". I asked him what that meant (again, I am new grading thing) and he said that the card was probably cut. I told him I open the packs and put them in my box. He said, "Well everyone says that". Here is where I become skeptical about the grading process or the sending them in without really ever being able to identify your cards from any other. So, he told me what all 5 cards would probably grade at and he was exactly right when they came back. Hmmmm....seems like he should just do his own grading or am I being way too pessimistic? Please help me in this dilemma. Should I just hang on to them or try another option?
Thanks so much for listening to my lengthy story.

Comments

• Options
    Jayman1982Jayman1982 Posts: 464 ✭✭✭