Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Mint Wrapped Small Dollar Rolls

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,846 ✭✭✭✭✭

Anyone know what the Mint sold these for?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Options

Hmmmm. So someone is buying these from the Mint, taking them to the bank and cashing them in for face value and them I'm getting them???

Or someone bought them from the Mint as gifts and the recipients took them to the bank, cashed them in and I got them??

Or maybe dealers were getting them from the Mint for face?

Are there any other scenarios?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,789 ✭✭✭✭✭

People paid a premium for these. Someone decided to cash out.

• Options
    gumby1234gumby1234 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭✭✭

Or somebody stole them from somewhere and cashed in at the bank.

Successful BST with ad4400, Kccoin, lablover, pointfivezero, koynekwest, jwitten, coin22lover, HalfDimeDude, erwindoc, jyzskowsi, COINS MAKE CENTS, AlanSki, BryceM

• Options
    Steven59Steven59 Posts: 8,294 ✭✭✭✭✭

Before or after Inflation?

"When they can't find anything wrong with you, they create it!"

• Options
    JWPJWP Posts: 17,761 ✭✭✭✭✭

My bank has a 50 plus USM wrapped rolls available for the asking. I think they are coming from the families where the parents have passed away and they just want the cash ( not coin collectors and no idea the value of each roll exceeds face value). :D

USN & USAF retired 1971-1993
    Successful Transactions with more than 100 Members

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have a couple of rolls of Sacagawea dollars, purchased from the mint when first issued.... Do not recall the price. I really should open them and spend them. Might be a speared eagle in there... Cheers, RickO

• Options