Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

What is a truer reflection of the actual coin

I have been reading a lot on these boards, trying to learn, and have taken heed to being patient while collecting. I don’t purchase based on the grade on the slab rather the coin itself. I have been collecting the Morgan Silver Dollars and came across this 1892 coin. At first glance it seemed somewhat “polished” I checked on the PCGS verification page and the digital version of the coin came up and it looked a lot different then the coin I was looking at. My question is two fold.
Are the digital pictures the PCGS provides a good representation of the actual coin? Does the coin being shown on the eBay website better reflect the actual coin? I don’t want to accuse anyone of doing anything immoral, but they don’t look like each other in the way of luster to me, but then again I admittedly realize I am a pure novice when it comes to this so I thought I would ask for opinons before making a decision.
Thank you in advance
Scott

Comments

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,908 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hard to say without the coin in hand. The True Views will be accurate if you light the coin the same way. PCGS has no reason to try to fool some with the photo.

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum.

It’s not really possible to say which images are more accurate, without having seen the coin in hand.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Options
    gumby1234gumby1234 Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭✭✭

TruViews tend to look much different than the coin in hand in most cases.

Successful BST with ad4400, Kccoin, lablover, pointfivezero, koynekwest, jwitten, coin22lover, HalfDimeDude, erwindoc, jyzskowsi, COINS MAKE CENTS, AlanSki, BryceM

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,730 ✭✭✭✭✭