Home U.S. Coin Forum

2000-P Sacagawea Dollar, Some Type Of Doubling

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been searching dollar coins for quit awhile. This one jumped out at me. It's probably some type of minor anomaly. It's under the eagles neck and along the top wing edge.

The area under the neck looks different from the normal machine or strike doubling I've seen over the years. It's a raised line, and then it goes back down to field lever behind the line.

The strike along the front of the wing looks more like strike doubling with a shelf-like look. Unless I'm missing it, I don't see this anywhere else on the coin.. Just these two areas.

I'm probably not explaining what I'm seeing very well.

Trying to get the lighting and focus correct wasn't easy. Hope you can see what I'm talking about.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• 1madman1madman Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭✭✭

Machine doubling. I’ve seen this on many 2000 P sacagawea dollars

• LanceNewmanOCCLanceNewmanOCC Posts: 19,999 ✭✭✭✭✭

a fantastic example of machine doubling since it shows it BOTH on the horizontal AND vertical plane.

actual doubling would be VERY hard pressed to create this effect because if it were just doubled horizontally, we'd only see it on the wing and if it were doubled vertically, we'd only see it on the neck.

vertically, we'd see it maybe on the tips of the feathers and horizontally we'd maybe see it on more of the neck/body/tail feathers.

if it were just rotation doubling, we would see the doubled areas be tapered one way or the other but both areas are about the same width the entire length.

if you notice the 55 1c doubled die, the doubling is more as it gets out away from the center of the coin since it is rotation doubling. we often see this with other types as well with pivot-points. less near the pivot-point and much more the further out you go.