Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Silver Coin Detecting Roll Machines

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited December 26, 2022 9:11PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I'm sure this has been asked here somewhere before.

Do the coin rolling companies (Brinks, Loomis, etc..), coin sorting and rolling machines detect and pull out/eject silver coins?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,404 ✭✭✭✭✭

They probably have some machine that weeds out slugs and foreign coins that would also remove silver coins and obsolete US coins such as 1943 cents. Hopefully, someone here who works for one of these companies will comment on their process.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

The Coinstar often rejects silver dimes... Not sure if it always does. I would think those companies have some sort of detection capabilities. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,547 ✭✭✭✭✭

During the changeover from silver to clad in the mid-1960's, once there were enough clad coins in circulation to carry the load, the Mints began pulling silver back out of circulation by running dimes and quarters through weighing machines that had originally been ordered to catch missing clad layer planchets prior to striking. By tweaking the expected weights they were able to separate the heavier silver coins from the clad and just keep the silver ones.

This was fairly labor intensive, and they discontinued the sorting when the percentage of silver being recovered fell too low to be cost effective, but not zero. Considering how little silver there is out in the wild today, there is no way that it could be cost effective for a simple coin depot to weigh each coin going through.