Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1964 Lincoln penny - cool stuff

I found this penny in a coin roll. When I saw it come out of the wrap I was immediately curious. The condition is amazing. The sheen on the coin made me think it was a proof coin but upon further inspection I found no mint mark. I am new to coins but thought all proof coins had an S mint mark. It looks like it has some doubling going on. Anyone care to weigh in on thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Mydiscussionboard... Welcome aboard. There can be proof coins from any mint - D, S or no mint mark P.... What is that mark above 'Liberty'? Cheers, RickO

• Options

The mark above liberty looks to be possibly a die crack

• Options

@Mydiscussionboard said:
    The mark above liberty looks to be possibly a die crack

If it were a die crack, it would be raised from the fields. Modern proofs were not minted at San Francisco until 1968.

Young Numismatist

• Options

Thank you for the input. I'm new to this so I'm still learning. You're information helps.

• Options
    dbldie55dbldie55 Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭✭✭

Proof coins in 1964 had no mint mark.

Collector and Researcher of Liberty Head Nickels. ANA LM-6053
  • Options
    MarkKelleyMarkKelley Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭✭✭

Your coin looks to be a Proof but appears to be scratched.

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,731 ✭✭✭✭✭

The photos appear to be a bit overexposed, but coin photography is quite tricky. The coin also appears to be a proof with a scratch above LIBERTY. It's an absolutely cool find to have in a coin roll. As has been mentioned, proof coins were produced in Philadelphia and had no mintmark until 1968.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options

Hello it's I have 1964 coins as well if you would like me to post it I will if you guys are still talking about it hello my name is April and I'm new here

• Options

1964 penny

• Options