Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Coin Roll Hunting...can you even do it anymore? At banks that is or where do you go to find them?

Hi All,
I am fairly new to collecting and I heard about coin roll hunting so I traveled into town and went to the US Bank near me. The teller told me that they don't ever have silver coins 40% or 90% in their .50 cent rolls anymore. I did find a bunch of 1976 Bicentennials and a few proofs like 2001, 2018 but other than that there were a lot of 1971, 1972, 1974, 1976, then 80's, 90's 2000's. Do you know if you can get rolls that may have surprise silver coins in the anymore and if so where would I go do this at? Any advice or words of experience would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance. Rachelle51

Comments

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@RACHELLE51.... Welcome aboard. Excellent advice in the previous posts. CRH is both fun and tedious. Good luck and let us know how it goes. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    joeykoinsjoeykoins Posts: 14,897 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes!
    Welcome To the Forum!
    CRHunting is so exciting. However, it takes a lot of work and time.
    Pack your patience, travel to many banks, including ones you don't have an account with, be very polite. Even supply them with treats (donuts, etc...) every now and then. Be aware to burn some gas if you travel to banks that on NOT on your way.
    Don't worry, the results you reap will cover the cost of the gas burned! Be very selective. Meaning, seeking not only for SILVER, but tons of other dandies. Proofs, errors, VARIETIES. Tons of varieties. Foreign, key date coins, wheaties (in Cent searches) BU coins. Oh, how could I forget. lol don't forget those, "W" Quarters!
    Like mentioned, here and above posts.
    Expect failures. But the enjoyment and gems you find will eleaviate the negativity!
    Have FUN & GOOD LUCK!
    Remember, your playing with house money, no real set backs. Just cash back in
    to receive most of your money.
    Be
    PERSISTENT