Home U.S. Coin Forum

Sideways coin in proof set

Why would the dime on this 1983 s proof set be crooked in the case?

Comments

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 8, 2022 7:44AM

Sloppy quality control at the mint. It happens. You could probably pop that plastic case open and straighten it out yourself.....................very carefully!

Yours actually look great compared to some we have seen here over the years.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Jzyskowski1Jzyskowski1 Posts: 6,650 ✭✭✭✭✭

This happens during shipping or such. The coins turn in the holder. With single slabs you can usually tap it on your hand and rotate it back. In the multi holder, I’m not sure about how that works.
    Not unusual all in all. I have several just like yours. 😉🦫🙀

🎶 shout shout, let it all out 🎶

• Glen2022Glen2022 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭✭

Drunk??

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just human variability. Placed in the holder and not noticed before closing. Cheers, RickO

• Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,894 ✭✭✭✭✭

Don't look up!

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52, LukeMarshall, coinsarefun, MichaelDixon, NickPatton, ProfLiz, Twobitcollector,Jesbroken

• coinpalicecoinpalice Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭✭✭

the case can be opened if you would like to put coin in the right position

• rodeo514rodeo514 Posts: 215 ✭✭✭

Thanks all
    Was hoping for a no s
    But no dice lol

• djmdjm Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭✭✭

You could just open the case and turn the coin straight.

• 1630Boston1630Boston Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭✭