Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Yankees Action pack photos ID help.

Hey guys ! Is this in anyones wheelhouse ? I’m trying to pinpoint this envelope but can’t find any matches. It doesn’t match the 56 or 57 Yankees versions.

Comments

• Options
    1951WheatiesPremium1951WheatiesPremium Posts: 6,243 ✭✭✭✭✭

This is the best answer I can give you.

First, PSA will grade the Mickey Mantle you showed me as a 1957 NY Yankees Action Picture. If that’s what you’d like to know, you can stop reading.

If your still here? A word.

I am a hobbyist and an excellent researcher. As any good researcher will tell you, you draw conclusions from the facts you have. Astronomy recently tossed Pluto out of planethood when new information came to light; so if new info comes to light, things could change. That said, just recognize that I am giving you what I have put together based on my collecting and research but I’m not one who bought it in the 1950’s from the source and won’t pretend to be.

I believe changing your mind in light of new quality information is a good thing; it used to be referred to as ‘intelligence’, after all. 😉

Without further ado, here’s what I have learned about your set.

First, most, if not all, of these 8x10 issues came one way or another from Manny’s Baseball Land. Manny’s opened around 1950 and sold all manner of collectibles out of the store and through a national mailing list. In addition, they also seemed to have made these available to teams, in bulk and on discount, for them to sell inside stadiums. It is my understanding that these ones from inside the stadium are known as NY Yankees Action Pictures and came with the names on the envelope already. Manny’s typically came in a blank envelope in store or a similar blank envelope from MBL that was addressed and mailed to the customer.