Home U.S. Coin Forum

2009 Lincoln Cents- MS vs SP

Hello there. I used to be a member of the forum however it had lapsed. I’ve since rejoined. I’ve been a member for over a decade now. Collector for almost 40 years though. For the 2009 bicentennial Lincoln cents I have been submitting them for grading for about six years now. I’ve been searching NF String rolls for high MS coins and have been fortunate to find most of the PCGS Top Pop MS68s. I’ve sent some of them to a member here at Heritage on consignment. I’m certain that all of the coins that I have submitted are MS coins. Could an expert on here help with an objective way to tell the MS coins from the SP coins? I thought that there was a weight and composition difference (MS= 2.5g and zinc, SP= 3.11g and bronze). Thanks in advance!

Tagged:

Comments

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@E1enxjdb.... Welcome back. The weights are correct as you stated. Cheers, RickO

• The_Dinosaur_ManThe_Dinosaur_Man Posts: 836 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome back! The bronze SP issues are intended to be materially identical to the 1909 issues.

Custom album maker and numismatic photographer, see my portfolio here: (http://www.donahuenumismatics.com/).

• That is what the Mint has on their website. PCGS has it on their website. CoinFacts states the same. And I know they were pulled from MS bank rolls. I weighed them as well before I sent them. So if they weigh 2.5g then they are absolutely MS coins? The only way they could be SP is if they were removed from the special sets and weigh 3.11g? Just trying to get more confirmation from someone other that just myself. It has been frustrating being told that my coins are not what I say they are and there’s nothing I can do about it. I appreciate your input!

• RampageRampage Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭✭

@E1enxjdb said: