Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Thoughts on this $2.50 Gold Indian? Fake - Or Real?

So let me start off by saying that to my extremely mediocre eye, this thing looks perfect. The ONLY REASON that I'm suspect is because the guy I bought it from on Ebay just got blasted with some negative feedback for selling "the exact same coin multiple times." I look at his closed listings and sure enough, same slabs, same cert numbers, the pictures are blurry but maybe the same coin, maybe not. Bad pictures are generally a red flag for me on Ebay because that usually means you're hiding something. Still the price was good and I figured worst comes to worst I'll send it back.

Now I'm not an expert by any means but for the life of me I think this looks good but I know they are highly counterfeit. It's in an ANACS slab, an old soap box which I really like, but I know slabs can be faked too.

Not sure what the etiquette is on sharing the Ebay seller's info so I won't do that for now but if it's allowed I'm happy to share that too.

Thank you for your time!

Justin From Jersey

Successful Transactions With: JoeLewis, Mkman123, Harry779, Grote15, gdavis70, Kryptonitecomics

Comments

• Options
    logger7logger7 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭✭✭

Good coin, properly graded. Who would have the capacity and the materials to fake an old Anacs slab?

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,438 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks real to me and properly graded. Nice pick-up assuming you didn't overpay for it. B)

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    BanemorthBanemorth Posts: 986 ✭✭✭

Logger that's exactly what I thought but I was scammed in the past and it has made me a little gun-shy and paranoid, I'll be honest. Someone I respect very dearly told me "there is no santa clause in the coin world. If a deal is too good to be true, it probably is."